Skip to content

What is a CCA?

The Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) program is a membership service of the American Society of Agronomy (ASA). Any public, commercial or independent adviser, who counsels farmers, ranchers or other agricultural entities and can meet the rigorous standards of the CCA program is encouraged to participate.

The requirements include passing a comprehensive international exam and a state, regional or provincial (local) exam evaluating knowledge of soil fertility, soil and water management, integrated pest management and crop production. The applicant is required to document their education and experience, up to four years depending on their educational background plus sign and agree to uphold the CCA code of ethics. To maintain the CCA status, a certificant must maintain 40 hours of continuing education every two years.

Since 1992, more than 20,000 individuals have voluntarily sat for the CCA exams and of these approximately 10,000 have satisfactorily met the requirements and become certified. CCAs will play a critical role in the future of agriculture as they advise agricultural producers. Through their skill application, they will help keep agriculture competitive in a global economy while aiding the process of sustaining our natural resources and protecting our environment.

Who should be certified?
Any adviser/consultant that spends the majority of their time advising growers on agronomic practices and can meet the standards of the program.

Steps to Certification

Steps to Certification:

Transferring CCA Certification to Minnesota:
If you are a CCA currently certified in North Dakota, South Dakota or Wisconsin and wish to transfer your certification to Minnesota, you may be eligible to do so without being required to take the local Minnesota exam. If you are currently certified in a state other than the ones listed above, you will be required to take the local Minnesota exam. To find out more, please email Jessica Elliot at

Exam Performance Objectives

Certified Crop Adviser Continuing Education Standards



Visit the Exam Tab for further information.